additional \$1,000 allowance for expenses. The Leader of the Opposition receives an additional \$2,000. An allowance of \$1,000, in addition to the regular indemnity, is made to the Speaker.

17.—Legislatures and Premiers of New Brunswick, 1935-54, and Ministry as at Mar. 31, 1954

Legislatures, 1935-541

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of	
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution	
June 27, 1935 Nov. 20, 1939 Aug. 28, 1944 June 28, 1948 Sept. 22, 1952	13th General Assembly 14th General Assembly	5 4 4	Mar. 5, 1936 Apr. 4, 1940 Feb. 20, 1945 Mar. 8, 1949 Feb. 12, 1953		

¹ The Ministries from 1935-54 were: 20th Ministry, sworn in July 16, 1935, under the leadership of Hon. A. A. Dysart; 21st Ministry, sworn in Mar. 13, 1940, under the leadership of Hon. J. B. McNair; 22nd Ministry, sworn in Oct. 8, 1952, under the leadership of Hon. H. J. Flemming.

² Life of Legislature not expired at Mar. 31, 1954.

Twenty-Second Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, Sept. 22, 1952: 36 Conservatives, 16 Liberals.)

Note.—See headnote to Table 15.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment		Date of Present Appointment	
Premier and Minister of Public Works. Attorney General. Provincial Secretary-Treasurer. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Health and Social Services. Minister of Lands and Mines. Minister of Lands and Municipal Affairs. Minister of Labour. Minister of Industry and Development. Minister without portfolio and President of the Executive Council. Minister without portfolio and Chairman of the New Brunswick Electric Power Commission.	Hon. Hugh John Flemming. Hon. William J. West Hon. D. D. Patterson Hon. C. B. Sherwood. Hon. J. F. McInerney Hon. N. B. Buchanan. Hon. Claude D. Taylor Hon. Arthur E. Skaling. Hon. J. Roger Pichette. Hon. T. Babbitt Parlee. Hon. Edgar Fournier.	Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct.	8, 1952	Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct.	8, 1952 8, 1952

Subsection 5.—Ouebec

The Government of Quebec consists of the Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council, and a bicameral legislature—the Legislative Council and the Legislative Assembly.

The Honourable Gaspard Fauteux, the present Lieutenant-Governor, was commissioned to office Oct. 3, 1950. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 90.

The Legislative Council has 24 members nominated for life by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. The Legislative Assembly has 92 elected members and, like the Legislative Council, has the power to bring forward Bills relating to civil and administrative matters and to the amendment or repeal of laws that already exist. A Bill, to be approved by the Lieutenant-Governor, must have received the assent of both Houses. Only the Legislative Assembly can bring forward a Bill requiring the expenditure of public money. The maximum life of a Legislature is five years.